The Captain Is Back!

So tonight is undoubtedly one of the games you circled on your Little Caesars schedule the day you got it.  Stevie Y and the Tampa Bay Lightning are heading back to the Joe tonight, in what should be an excellent match up. Tampa has had a mediocre start after last season’s dream postseason run. Still, they find themselves only six points behind the surprising Florida Panthers for first, and have every right to believe they can win a weakend Southeast division with the unrest in Washington.

But, instead of a lengthy preview on tonight’s match up, I thought it might be better to revisit my personal top three favorite Stevie Y moments.

3) So I’m cheating a little here because I am too young to remember this one. But I saw replay after replay of it growing up. My dad used to coach me to hang on to the puck in the offensive zone by referencing “that Yzerman goal”. This truly emobodied the forward he was in the late 80s and early 90s.

2) Yzerman’s performance on one leg in the 2002 playoffs is something I will tell my kids about one day. It was truly one of the most inspiring and gritty things you’ll ever see. Trailing 2-0 to the upset minded Canucks, Yzerman willed his team to victory that series. Despite his injuries, he ended the postseason with 23 points in 23 games. After winning the cup, he immediately passed it off to coach Scotty Bowman, who promptly announced his retirement.

1) Was there any question? I was fortunate enough to be at this game – on a school night (thanks Mom)- and will probably never be in a stadium atmosphere quite like this one. I’ll never forget the noise and beer that showered us as we listened to Tag Team’s Whoomp There It Is for what seemed like days after the goal. But it was just an amazing shot, and an amazing feeling. I’m having trouble putting it into words, but just ask any other person in that stadium that night, and they’d probably say the same. It will forever be included in top ten lists and highlight reels. As it should.

Anyways, I’m sure I’ll get chills tonight. It should be a fun one, and hopefully the Red Wings can continue their winning ways.

Posted on November 30, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. SHOCKING story.

Leave a Reply

