Gap-toothed Nightmares

This is one of those rare occasions when I’m actually disappointed in the Wings and almost too pissed off to write about them. The Caps played some excellent puck tonight and as much as it hurts me to say, we just couldn’t keep up. Losing 7-1 was simply unacceptable and it was clear that our highly skilled team wasn’t at the top of their game. The Red Wings’ sole goal was scored by Niklas Kronwall (assisted by Datsyuk and Lidstrom) during a 5-on-3 power play in the middle of the 2nd period. At the very least, I’m happy that the Captain got a point during his 1500th game. The Caps scored 2 goals during the 1st, 2 during the 2nd, and 3 during the 3rd. Ty Conklin was 18-25 (0.720 sv%), which is ridiculous–but I guess they win as a team and they lose as a team. I suggest that Conklin stay in the net and close his legs…he gave puck slut a whole new meaning tonight. Wings are now 5-1-0, which is clearly not a bad record, but the Capitals being 7-0-0 makes me want to vomit a little. All I know is that I will definitely be seeing Ovi’s gap-toothed smile in my nightmares tonight.

bleacherreport.com

The next game is Tuesday night at 7:00 in Columbus

Posted on October 22, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

